Dubai is adding 100 more centres where motorists can complete the eye test linked to driving licence services, according to a report published by Khaleej Times on 3 August 2026. The test is reported to take 10 minutes to complete.

The expansion comes as demand for vision testing continues to grow. A total of 854,213 vision-test transactions were recorded in Dubai during the first half of 2026.

That figure covers the first six months of the year. The available report does not provide a comparison with the same period in an earlier year, so it is not possible to say how much demand has increased over time.

What the Expansion Means

For motorists, the main change is the larger number of locations available for driving licence eye tests. More centres may give applicants more choice when arranging the required check, although the report does not state whether waiting times will fall.

It also does not give a confirmed figure for the extra testing capacity created by the 100 additional centres. The 10-minute completion time describes how long the eye test takes, but the report does not explain whether that includes registration, payment, any waiting time, or the submission of the result.

The report does not list the locations of the new centres. It also does not state when each centre will begin operating. Motorists should therefore confirm that a centre is open before travelling to it.

Who Needs the Test

The available reporting does not specify which motorists must complete the eye test. It does not confirm whether the service applies to first-time driving licence applicants, licence renewals, or both.

It also does not explain the testing process in detail. There is no information on whether motorists receive the result immediately, whether the result is sent directly into a licensing system, or whether applicants receive a separate document.

These details matter because the practical steps can differ depending on the type of licence application. For now, the only confirmed process detail is the stated 10-minute completion time.

Cost, Documents and Appointments

The report does not state the cost of the eye test. It also does not say which documents or identification applicants must bring.

There is no appointment link or booking method included in the available source. The report also does not identify the authority or private providers operating the expanded network. Motorists should check the official driving licence service channel before booking or visiting a centre.

What this means: the expansion confirms a bigger testing network, but it does not yet provide all the information needed for a complete step-by-step guide. Applicants still need to verify the location, opening date, fee, documents, eligibility rules and booking process before setting out.

The reported transaction total shows why access to the service matters. Vision tests form one part of the driving licence process, and the number of transactions recorded in the first half of 2026 points to substantial use. The source does not, however, say whether the new centres are intended to handle a specific share of that demand.

For readers planning an application or renewal, the safest takeaway is simple: look for the latest official centre details before attending. Until those details are published, the report confirms the expansion but leaves several practical questions open.

Join the discussion

💬 Would more eye-test centres make licence applications easier for you?